Ohana means Family; Family means nobody gets left behind. Or Forgotten.

Disney sure does teach everyone a lot, or rather it used to back in the day.

Stitch makes me think a lot about life. So does Lilo. My life is not like her life. My parents weren’t killed in a car wreck, my older sibling isn’t in charge of me (I have no older sibling anyway), and I most certainly did not just come across can intergalactic alien; even though I would have really liked to. Growing up I didn’t watch many of these shows, I grew up shows from the older generation, the classic shows that are now on boomerang and Tv Land. I didn’t get into Disney until I hit 2nd or 3rd grade. Lilo and Stitch is a great story. It’s basically two people who are lost in their own world and their own family is broken apart, so they bind together and make their own Ohana. (In case you’re one of those few people who are unfortunate and never watched Lilo and Stitch, it’s set in Hawaii and Ohana is Hawaiian)

My Ohana has grown bigger than I ever thought it would. Mostly because I’ve opened up and let it happen. My friends are not just friends, they’re Ohana, my teachers are not just teachers, they’re Ohana, the people I meet and get to know, or just talk to for a few minutes are my Ohana. 

You are my Ohana if you’re reading this.

The importance of ohana has never really hit me until now, we’re all graduating in 5 months… all shuffling off to colleges or traveling or whatever. It’s never dawned on me until recently how vital ohana is, it’s more like your blood line.

This is my family. I found it, all on my own. Is little, and broken, but still good. Yeah, still good.

Honestly, I didn’t find Ohana. Ohana found me and saved me.

I’m sure there will be times along the road of life where one of us will meet again and we’ll look back and ponder and wonder, and we’ll realize that it was worth it.

We’ll realize that our ohana is strong and we are mighty. No matter how small or big we are, we will always stick together, because no one gets let behind.

Or forgotten.

Ohana

This post will be re-written and updated – Jan. 3rd 2012

Leave a Reply

