The Newsroom

My new favorite TV show. Even tops out Star Trek, and for me, that’s saying a lot.

I can not tell you how much I love this show. Well I could, but I’m sure I’d have to use a lot of profanity. And I don’t like using profanity…most of the time. But in all honesty, this has to be the greatest show ever created. Aaron Sorkin is a pure a genius. (In case you didn’t know, Aaron Sorkin is an Academy and Emmy award winning writer, producer, playwright, screenwriter, and all around genius) Did I mention he was a genius?

The entire storyline is artfully crafted and created yet follows the real life of journalism today. The life in which it’s no longer about journalism, it’s no longer about telling the truth, informing minds, or simply being fair. It’s become about ratings  and popularity and demographics and viewers.

The Newsroom holds my views exactly. Sorkin clearly states that the American Press has lost its sense of purpose. Not every broadcast station or print is like this, but for many, it’s why we’ve become “…angry, confused, and even pathetic nation of loud mouths at each others throats, trying to score ideological points rather than achieve greatness — or even functionality” (David Zurawik | The Baltimore Sun)

Media has just gotten off track and just makes me mad. Mass communication is a very very very powerful tool. Do you want me to repeat that? No? Well, I will anyway. Mass communication is the most powerful tool ever. If you haven’t already read my post about the how the power of words are so influential to me, I suggest you should here.

I won’t go on about the media and etc. (I’ll save that rant for another post later on)

For now, I simply  state visit the HBO.com website and catch the first episode for free online.

Here’s my 10 reasons why

1. Aaron Sorkin – I think I might have left out that he’s a genius
2. Characters/Actors – Play off of each other so well it just is beautiful
3. British Accents-  If it has British people in it, you know it’s good.
4.Comedy – subtle hints of laugher at every turn.
5.Romance – two twisting love stories.
6.Technical/journalistic   – It’s actual news not just some made up stuff
7.Cinematography- amazing
8. Just the pure idea of it is quite nice.
9.Aweomse set design.
10. Because I said to.

Really, go watch it.

Go right now.

Leave a Reply

