College update & The beauty of Sign Language.

Meow.

Howdy there. Did ya miss me? I doubt it. But that’s all good. It’s like 3 in the morning right now and I’m really tired but I can’t sleep so I decided to write a little. Probably should be writing papers/summaries that are due within the next two weeks but that’s boring stuff.

Anywho, if you didn’t already know, I started college. Woohoo right?  I’m enjoying it…even though it’s just community college to get my basics out of the way.

Pretty awesome classes, one of which I’ll write more about later on. I’ve also joined the Video Production Club so it’s nice to have somewhere to belong that I’m kinda familiar  with. It is kind of just randomly there though…so I feel like there’s going to be a lot of setting the foundations and stuff, in addition to learning a couple of new things. (Just downloaded the manual for a Media Encoder ha)  Should be interesting though.

Math is nice since it’s like a refresher course so it’s helping me re-learn the basics that I guess I kinda failed on. Government is interesting, our professor is from Poland, has a doctorate, and just moved to Texas from California about a month ago. He’s an interesting guy. Played family guy videos, references south park, and today (yesterday) turned a discussion on the Executive Branch into something about Nuclear weapons. There was a link between them. I also have to take HUMD which is like a how to handle college kind of course. It’s actually not as bad as I thought it would be. I mean it’s a bit slow/tedious at times, but you can see that our professor really cares about the success of her students in not only her class but outside as well. All in all, a pretty good plate for the first semester.

What I’m really here to talk about is Sign Language. American Sign Language to be exact. I’m not sure what made me want to take the course in the first place, but I’m really glad I did. Honestly I’m still not sure why I’m taking it.

All I know is this –

Sign Language is stunningly beautiful.

For someone like me, who doesn’t really like talking that much anyway, having a different way of communicating, even if most hearing people won’t understand it, means a lot. Somehow I think signing is letting me be me. There’s a certain way you have to sign everything. Facial expressions are huge in importance. There’s a lot of people that laugh when they see an interpreter and the way they have facial expressions and such. Heck, I did the same thing. But, there’s a reason for that. Sometimes it’s how you show emotion, sometimes it’s the difference between a question and a statement.

There’s just something about it that has just got my brain ignited and firing neurons like crazy.

It also helps that I have a really fun class. Oh! That’s another thing, our class is set up really weirdly (but it’s actually really awesome) So once we get to class, there is no talking. At all. Zero. Which is fine by me since I don’t talk much anywho. It’s an ASL friendly classroom. Meaning that it’s helpful to us as we’re learning, but also to our professor. Another interesting thing is that our professor is deaf (well, kinda, he says he can hear a bit) Yep. so a silent classroom and a deaf professor. Doesn’t get any better than that. Immersion learning at it’s best.

It’s also really great because we have an awesome group of people that are all different and have a lot of character. And humor. Lots of humor. There hasn’t been one class where we haven’t at least bust out laughing twice.

Lately I’ve been watching videos of ASL ( or SEE, or etc.) interpreted songs. If you read my post about music (If I published that one ha) you’d know how much music means to me. Seeing those videos only makes me fall even more into love with signing. The power of such smooth and swift signing along with the lyrics and the music is a a deadly, and sometimes emotional combination. Here’s one of the more powerful ones (in my opinion).

[youtube http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=5ECDbZjDxaI]

I dunno. That’s all I really have to say right now. Guess I better go find a featured image for this.  I also need to update my theme and site and stuff, done with the blackness of life.

For now, I’m going to continue on this path of learning how to sign as best I can. I think I may have found my anchor.

And it doesn’t hurt that a girl that can sign is definite turn-on. (and vice versa apparently) Just saying. 

Peace out.

P.s I might start vlogging along with these posts. I dunno I say a lot of things but never get around to doing them. I’ve got start taking a photo a day though.

 

 

Leave a Reply

