The Wider Image

Reuters is a great organization. It has it’s flaws and mistakes, but it is without a doubt a great organization that understands the importance of design in telling compelling stories. Part of my own design taste comes from their design taste and it’s something that I feel the need to write about.

I didn’t think much of the Reuters Wider Image app when I first saw it. Eh. It’s just a bunch of pictures that probably look really good but don’t matter much. I was horridly wrong about that though.

Those images are  told with compelling stories from the same people behind the lens of the camera that took them. They’re from the front end of story. Some of them are entertaining, some deeply concerning, and there are those that when seen for the first time or even for the 10th time send shivers down your arms and spine.

While the subjects range from human interest to politics and war, each is a truly a story that probably won’t get told anywhere else. You know the saying “A picture is worth a thousand words”? I don’t believe in that. I don’t think a picture is worth a thousand words, it’s worth an entire story. A story of the people, the places, the events, and the person that pressed the shutter button in the first place.

Photography wasn’t always an important part of my life, I didn’t care about it. I liked words better…I still do. But now I can see the words behind the photos. There’s millions of opinions and thoughts behind them. The Wider Image app enables me to see those words…not only because they’re written there for me to read, but because I can understand them.

In light of the changing trends with regards to photojournalism, the app also gives me hope, that somewhere, there are still people and news organizations that understand the meaning and power of an image.

Reporters aren’t photojournalists, nor are they photographers. Photographers are Photographers.

If you don’t have The Wider Image App. You need to get it now. It’s only available for iPad, but they’re working on other platforms.

P.s. I don’t really like the video because it states that the lens can now speak…I think that is a false statement. The photographer can now speak. Also, Journalism majors who don’t take an interest in other forms of media should really reconsider what journalism means and stands for.

Leave a Reply

